Project 4: Three techniques/ 2.10-2.11and 2.12

project 4:Three techniques

In this section of the course we explore three distinctive post production techniques of photography-namely: Dodging and burning, split contrast and pixel painting.

The most challenging of the three was that of Split contrasting as there is a large range of variation in the final outcome of the appearance of the photo. This for me was a bit disconcerting at first. Also, getting to grips with layer masks etc took some familiarising. The dodge and burn method I have found really useful for a lot of re-touching of images that I have made over the year. This is something of a find from a photographic point of view.

Exercise 2.10 Dodging and burning

Below is the night portrait image that I used for for dodging and burning. To start with I converted the image to black and white. Then I  applied some darkening to the leg area and then some lighting to the face on the right side. At this stage I was not so confident with the technique so I kept my adjustments fairly basic.

The image I think works well as a night portrait. Generally I find that I am quite fond of the night or dark in images. Shadows that recede into darkness of figures that come out of the darkness for me stimulate my imagination. I think its important to leave something to the imagination within a photo. Something that is not tied up and explicit can be intriguing and draw that view further in.

_MG_5767
Image with dodge and burn applied
_MG_5767
Original image before dodge and burn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Exercise 2.11 Below a sample of split contrast. 

IMG_5005.jpg_version_1

Exercise 2.12: Pixel painting

I chose here to work in a basic way within a black and white image below is the portrait that am using for the exercise and beneath are two extra examples of pixel painting.

IMG_5143 2
IMG_5107

Colour change of eyes: Blue above and Green below

IMG_5107-2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

