Project 1: exercise 3.1: Searching

Exercise 3.1: Searching

As instructed I went about looking for objects and situations that caught my eye without considering too much where I was going and what I was looking for. The exercise was interesting from the point of view of leaving an open-ended feel to the photos taken. It reminded me a bit of some of the exercises from the book ‘Contemplative photography’ Whereby you are instructed to trust and develop your perception and allow the photo to come from within as it were, rather than looking for the ready-made composition already discouraged in the early stages of this course. I liked the practice. It is a good way of getting to know oneself and what motivates us to work in the way that we do.

exercise_3.1_searching_jpeg

 

I noticed as I was moving about looking for things to shoot that I had an almost continuous dialogue in my mind about what was approved of and what was to be rejected. This no doubt has some compositional validity but somehow I think it might get in the way of a deeper connection to the photography.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

